Some aswang/vampire accounts from the Phils.

[Found a five-month-old thread in reddit.com about vampire/aswang tales in the Philippines. I just copied and pasted the relevant posts from the thread.–Editor. P.S. Here’s how to deal with such unfriendly entities.]

this post was submitted on 21 Feb 2014

Guys, what’s your local ‘aswang’ stories? (self.Philippines)

submitted 5 months ago by PapercutFiles(The Woman)

I’ve been wondering about this a lot. There are lots of news about monsters caught on CCTV and exorcism in other places in the Philippines. We have a local “vampire” like creature here though that goes to people’s houses if it’s dark out and it kind of bugs me.

Do you have an aswang/multo/creepy story too?

[–]not_a_killjoyAlbay 4 points 5 months ago*

When my ate was pregnant with her first child last year, sometimes about 2-3 am in the morning I can hear weird chirping sounds right outside my window. It was unlike any bird I have heard before, and with us living in a probinsya we would have been used to almost all the sounds of nature… And then I realized it must have been a tiktik. Being the coward that I am, I never did anything besides shutting the window and never informing my sister until the next morning.

[–]PapercutFiles(The Woman)[S] 3 points 5 months ago

That’s really unsettling! My friend told me once that when her mother was pregnant with her brother, they heard distinct footsteps on the roof above their heads. They didn’t come out though but they locked all the windows and doors. She said it happened more than once. She lived in Malicboy then and tiktiks were popular beasts there.

[–]ihavebookworms 3 points 5 months ago

I was living in Aklan when I was in first grade when this happened. I share a room with my older cousin and we we’re both asleep when I heard scratching sound on the roof. I did not pay attention to it at first but it won’t stop so I started getting scared. I have no idea why I did not wake my cousin up maybe I was scared that the thing on the roof might hear me. So I started praying and praying but the scratching noise was still there. Then I heard a loud wooshing sound like a big bird suddenly flew away from the roof. Bricks were shat and the next day I could not go to school because I had a fever. We went to the local albularyo and I remember that she has this chicken egg and she prayed to it then she rubbed it on my forehead, my extremities then she cracked it open in a bowl. The yolk has 2 scratch marks on it. That’s all I remembered. I did not tell them about what happened that night and I already forgot what the albularyo told them.

[–]JaneKirstenMandaluyong 3 points 5 months ago

Recently, my lola’s sister told us that they used to have neighbors who are manananggals. They were sisters, I think. She described them as beautiful maidens who has long hair and goes to church regularly. Apparently, they do not “attack” on their barrio but to a far barrio. One story is on the checkpoint, my uncle had seen one of them flew over the checkpoint. He blurted this out on her the next day and the woman didn’t commented nor look at his eye

[–]PapercutFiles(The Woman)[S] 1 point 5 months ago

Creepy but good thing your family wasn’t harmed though.

[–]JaneKirstenMandaluyong 2 points 5 months ago

Me too but our family was there before they came to that barrio. The creepiest thing would be them going to church. They were very religious. So much for the aswangs turning into dust when they step in the church.

Leave a Reply

